Summer Camp Preview

Shuttle service will be available between our two campuses and from the Solon area.  Extended care is available both mornings and afternoons at our Shaker Campus.

NO CAMPS/CLASSES ON JULY 3 & 4

DAY CAMPS – Shaker Campus 
CAMP
FOR
WHEN
TIME
FEE
DIRECTOR
Boys' Pre-K Camp
Boys age 4 by 6/12/17 and not enrolling in kindergarten in the fall.
June 12-16;
June 19-23;
June 26-30
9:15 - 11:45 am
$150
Ellen Rothfusz
erothfusz@us.edu
216.321.8260 x8280
Boys’ Day Camp
(Grades 1, 2, 5 & 7 FILLED)
Boys entering K - 7
June 12-July 21
(closed 7/3 & 7/4)
9:00 am - 3:45 pm
$1,410
(6-week session)
Bill Champ
bchamp@us.edu   
216.321.8260 x8244
 
ENRICHMENT CAMPS – Shaker Campus
CAMP
FOR
WHEN
TIME
FEE
DIRECTOR
Music Composition & Songwriting 
CAMP FULL.  PLEASE CALL 216.831.1984 x7366 TO BE PLACED ON WAIT LIST.
Boys & girls entering 6 – 10
June 12-16
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
$200
Joe Hollings
216.321.8260 x8224
Space Camp 
Boys & girls entering 4 – 8
June 12-16;
June 19-23;
June 26-30
9:00 am - 3:30 pm
Any 1 week: $600;
Any 2 weeks: $1,150;
All 3 weeks: $1,700
Robert Farrell
216.321.8260 x8291
Theatre Camp
Boys & girls entering 4 - 9
June 19-23
9:00 am - 3:00 pm 
$350
Sarah Lyon
216.321.8260 x8302
Art Studio
Boys & girls entering 5 - 9
July 17-21
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
9:00 am - 3:00 pm
Half day: $200
Full day:  $390
Brooke Littman
blittman@us.edu
216.321.8260 x8264
Inventions & Innovations!
Boys & girls entering 3 - 4
June 12-16
9:00 am - 3:00 pm 
$350
Christine Totte
ctotte@us.edu
216.321.8260 x8571
 
ENRICHMENT CAMPS – Hunting Valley Campus
CAMP
FOR
WHEN
TIME
FEE
DIRECTOR
Debate Camps
Boys & girls entering 7 - 8
Boys & girls entering 9 - 12
July 10-14
July 17-21
9:00 am - 3:00 pm
9:00 am - 3:00 pm
$400

Peter Paik
ppaik@us.edu
216.831.2200 x7446
Science, Engineering & Design Camps
Boys & girls entering 8 - 9
Dates vary - please see webpages

9:00 am - 3:00 pm
Fees vary - please see webpages
Directors vary - please see webpages
Young Entrepreneur Camp

Boys & girls entering 7 – 9
June 19-23
June 19-30 (2 wks.)
9:00 am - 3:30 pm
$475
$850 (2 wks.)
Nicole Lawrence
nlawrence@us.edu
216.831.2200 x7391
 
ACADEMIC COURSES – Both Campuses
Academic Courses
(Hunting Valley Campus)
(please click HERE to view the Academic Summer Courses webpage for details and additional courses)
Boys & girls entering 8 – 12
Dates vary - please see webpage
(closed 7/3 & 7/4)
Times vary - please see webpage
Fees vary - please see webpage
                  
William Daughtrey
wdaughtrey@us.edu
216.831.2200 x7355
 
Middle School
Summer Prep I: Writing
Middle School
Summer Prep II: Math
(Shaker Campus)
 US Boys entering 6 - 8
 August 7-16
 Writing: 
    12:00 - 1:30 pm;
 Math:
      1:30 - 3:00 pm
 $240 per session
Nate Burch
nburch@us.edu
216.321.8260 x8283
 
SPORTS CAMPS – Hunting Valley Campus (unless noted)
CAMP
FOR
WHEN
TIME
FEE
DIRECTOR
All-American Sports Camp
Boys entering 5 - 8
July 24-28
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
$250
Brian Kennedy
brianjkennedy@live.com
216.831.2200 x7334
Baseball Camp
Boys entering 3 - 8
July 17-20
(4-day camp)
9:00 am - 3:00 pm
$290
Chuck Smith
chuck45heat@gmail.com
216.831.2200 x7334
Basketball Camp
Boys entering 3 - 8
June 19-22
(4-day camp)
9:00 am - 3:00 pm
$290
Sean McDonnell
smcdonnell@us.edu
216.831.2200 x7394
Football Camp
Boys entering 1 - 6
June 26-29
(4-day camp)
 
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
$150
Ben Malbasa
bmalbasa@us.edu
216.831.2200 x7350
Golf Camp
(Beginner) 

(held at Shawnee Hills Golf Course)
Boys & girls entering 4 – 8
June 12-16 (FILLED);
June 19-23
 
9:00 am - 2:00 pm
$375


Brady Hurley
bhurley@us.edu
216.321.8260 x8208
Golf Camp
(Intermediate) - CAMP FILLED

(held at Shawnee Hills Golf Course)
Boys & girls entering 6 - 12
June 26-30
8:00 am - 2:00 pm
$525
Brady Hurley
bhurley@us.edu
216.321.8260 x8208
Lacrosse Camp

Boys entering 3 - 8 
July 17-20
(4-day camp)
9:00 am - 3:00 pm
$290
Hans Rydquist
hrydquist@us.edu
216.321.8260 x8188
Soccer Camp Session 1

Soccer Camp Session 2
Boys & girls entering K - 8

Boys entering K - 12
June 12-15

July 10-13
(both are 4-day camps)

9:00 am - 3:00 pm

9:00 am - 3:00 pm
$290

$290
John Ptacek
jptacek@us.edu
216.831.2200 x7332
Speed Camp
Boys entering 5 - 9
June 26-29
(4-day camp)
1:00 - 3:00 pm
$150
Pete Zappas
216.831.2200 x7430
Swim! Bike! Run!
Boys & girls entering 2 - 6
July 24-28

9:00 am - 3:00 pm
$400
Elizabeth Chois
echois@us.edu
216.321.8260 x8267
Tennis Camp
Beginners, Intermediate, and Advanced

(held at the Shaker Campus)
Boys & girls entering 3 - 9
June 19-23;
June 26-30
Beginners: 9:00 am -11:00 am;
 
Intermediate and Advanced: 9:00 am -12:00 pm
Beginners: $150/week;
 

Intermediate and Advanced: $225/week
Rob Emmet 
remmet@us.edu
216.321.8260 x8250
Squash Camp
Boys entering 3 - 12
June 5-9
 
Grades 3-5: 9:00 - 10:30 am;
Grades 6-8: 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Grades 9-12: 1:00 - 3:00 pm (FILLED)
Grades 3-8: $175

Grades 9-12: $225
 
Jon Bridge
jbridge@us.edu

216.831.2200 x7320
Football Skills Showcase
Boys entering 7 - 8
July 24 - 25
(2-day camp)
6:00 - 8:30 pm $50
Ben Malbasa
bmalbasa@us.edu

216.831.2200 x7350
US Flag Football League

CAMP CANCELLED
Boys entering 5 - 8
June 15, 22, 29, July 13, 20 (Thursdays)
Grades 5-6:  5:00 - 6:00 pm;
 
Grades 7-8: 6:00 - 7:00 pm
$100
Brian Kennedy
brianjkennedy@live.com
216.831.2200 x7334
US Soccer Development League

CAMP CANCELLED
Boys entering 3 - 8
June 20, 27, July 11, 18, 25
(Tuesdays)
Grades 3-5:  5:00 - 6:00 pm

Grades 6-8:  6:00 - 7:00 pm
$100
John Ptacek
jptacek@us.edu

216.831.2200 x7332
 
REACH SUMMER ENRICHMENT PROGRAM – Shaker Campus
 
REACH Summer Enrichment Program
 
For boys entering grade 6 – visit www.US.edu/reach or contact REACH Director Terry Lipford for program details, selection criteria, and application process (tlipford@us.edu  / 216.321.8260 x8394).
 



 

Shaker Heights Campus

20701 Brantley Road
Shaker Heights, Ohio 44122
GRADES K-8
Phone: 216.321.8260

Hunting Valley Campus

2785 SOM Center Road
Hunting Valley, OH 44022
GRADES 9-12
Phone: 216.831.2200
University School serves 870 boys in grades K-12 on two campuses in suburban Cleveland, Ohio. The School’s mission is to inspire boys of promise to become young men of character who lead and serve. Dedicated faculty, rigorous curriculum, and experiential programs foster intellectual, physical, creative, and moral excellence.