2022 Cum Laude Society Inductees

University School inducted 22 seniors into The Cum Laude Society at a special morning assembly. These leaders in academic achievement were introduced by Mr. Garrett, English Department Chair holder and secretary of the US chapter of the society.

Head of School Mr. Patrick Gallagher began this special morning assembly by reading the poem "Don't Go Into the Library" by Alberto Rios.Those in the Gund Auditorium or watching the stream from around the building heard about the accomplishments and interests of each student. Though too numerous to list comprehensively, their successes included everything from awards in art, music, and writing to excellence in AP math and science courses to engagement in co-curricular activities and student leadership roles. It was a great glimpse into the richness and diversity of the US experience and of these students who have worked hard to make the most of their time here. 

The Cum Laude Society was founded in 1906 with the mission of recognizing academic achievement in secondary schools for the purpose of promoting excellence, justice, and honor. There are over 380 chapters of the society around the country and internationally. Each member school may induct up to ten percent of a class at the end of junior year and ten percent at the end of senior year. University School has been a member of The Cum Laude Society since 1911.

The 2022 Cum Laude Society Inductees are: 

Ted Applebaum
Owen Bauer
Chris Bridge
Aiden Burkholder
Carl Cort
James Cullers
Alex Devine
Elijah Dorroh
Alex Kmetko
Ajay Krishnaney
Ian McKenna
Peter McKenna
Nate Miller
Nathan Mu
Holden Neely
Max Outcalt
Dev Peyrat
Peter Pich
Zach Sands
Jae Smith
Varun Tamaskar
Ryan Tyler

In addition, Nathan Mu was named Phi Beta Kappa for the class of 2022. Member schools of this society select one student each year who is not only in the top ten percent of the graduating class but also demonstrates “a creative involvement in scholarship, and great interest in things of the mind.” 

Congratulations to all!

    • The 2022 Cum Laude Society Inductees. (front row) Peter McKenna, Nate Miller, Varun Tamaskar, Ajay Krishnaney, Alex Kmetko, Alex Devine, Max Outcalt, Ian McKenna, Chris Bridge. (back row) Cum Laude Secretary Mr. Jim Garrett, Holden Neely, Ryan Tyler, Owen Bauer, Nathan Mu, Dev Peyrat, Aiden Burkholder, Elijah Dorroh, Zach Sands, Peter Pich, James Cullers, Head of School Mr. Patrick Gallagher. Not pictured are Ted Applebaum, Carl Cort, and Jae Smith who were out on college visits.

Shaker Heights Campus

20701 Brantley Road
Shaker Heights, Ohio 44122
GRADES Junior K-8
Phone: 216-321-8260

Hunting Valley Campus

2785 SOM Center Road
Hunting Valley, Ohio 44022
Phone: 216-831-2200
University School serves 870 boys in Junior Kindergarten to grade 12 on two campuses in suburban Cleveland, Ohio. The School’s mission is to inspire boys of promise to become young men of character who lead and serve. Dedicated faculty, rigorous curriculum, and experiential programs foster intellectual, physical, creative, and moral excellence. University School is a diverse and inclusive community where each boy is known and loved.