2023 Cum Laude Society Inductees

University School inducted 21 seniors into The Cum Laude Society at a special morning assembly. These leaders in academic achievement were introduced by Mr. Garrett, English Department Chair holder and secretary of the US chapter of the society. Head of School Mr. Patrick Gallagher opened the induction ceremony and Dr. Bill O'Neil gave the keynote address. Dr. O'Neil served US for 40 years in the roles of English teacher, Director of the Upper School, Associate Head of School, and state-championship-winning golf coach.

In detailed and personal introductions, Mr. Garrett spoke about each student's achievements. Though too numerous to list all, the successes included everything from awards in art, music, and writing to excellence in AP courses, to engagement in co-curricular activities and student leadership roles. It was a wonderful glimpse into the richness and diversity of the US experience and of these students who have worked hard to make the most of their time here. 

The 2023 Cum Laude Society Inductees are: 

Nate Abbott
Luke Brandon
Grayson Brooks
Ehren Collins
Harbir Dass
Ben Elliot
Steven Kim
TJ Lavelle
Samuel Mathews
Kellen McGarry
Theo Moll
Braedon Olsen
Oliver Posner
Rezah Quereshy
Andrei Radjenovic
Sachin Singh
Ryan Streem
Alex Temnorod
Charlie Whitner
Nick Wojnar*
Matthew Young

The Cum Laude Society was founded in 1906 with the mission of recognizing academic achievement in secondary schools for the purpose of promoting excellence, justice, and honor. There are over 380 chapters of the society around the country and internationally. Each member school may induct up to ten percent of a class at the end of junior year and ten percent at the end of senior year. University School has been a member of The Cum Laude Society since 1911.

*In addition, Nick Wojnar was named Phi Beta Kappa for the Class of 2023. For over seventy-five years, the Cleveland Association of Phi Beta Kappa has sponsored an award to recognize scholastic excellence at the secondary level. The Cleveland Association honors graduating seniors from more than 100 schools in Northeast Ohio to celebrate their hard work and commitment to learning. Each year the student in the graduating class with the best academic record is chosen to receive this award from Phi Beta Kappa.

Click here to watch a recording of the induction ceremony.

    • The 2023 Cum Laude Society Inductees: (front row) Alex Temnorod, Harbir Dass, Ben Elliot, Ehren Collins, Kellen McGarry, Rezah Quereshy, Steven Kim, (second row) Head of School Mr. Patrick Gallagher, Theo Moll, Luke Brandon, Andrei Radjenovic, Sachin Singh, Braedon Olsen, Samuel Mathews, Cum Laude Secretary Mr. Jim Garrett, (back row) Charlie Whitner, Nate Abbott, Grayson Brooks, Matthew Young, Oliver Posner, TJ Lavelle, Ryan Streem. Not pictured is Nick Wojnar.

Shaker Heights Campus

20701 Brantley Road
Shaker Heights, Ohio 44122
Phone: 216-321-8260

Hunting Valley Campus

2785 SOM Center Road
Hunting Valley, Ohio 44022
GRADES 9 – 12
Phone: 216-831-2200
University School serves over 850 boys in Junior Kindergarten to Grade 12 on two campuses in suburban Cleveland, Ohio. The School’s mission is to inspire boys of promise to become young men of character who lead and serve. Dedicated faculty, rigorous curriculum, and experiential programs foster intellectual, physical, creative, and moral excellence. University School is a diverse and inclusive community where each boy is known and loved.